Clouds Clouds Airship Belthil Tower Nether Temple
📚 Learn more about The Shire's history on our Timeline. 🕰

Need Help With C#

Options
0031benjy
0031benjy Confirm Email, Retired Staff
edited March 2014 in Off Topic
Well I recently started learning C# for my course, my most recent assignment requires me to create a program (which will probably seem very basic to some) but have the code written in an efficient way, I have wrote a Rock-Paper-Scissors style thing and I need help:
1) Shortening it where possible
2) Making it so if the user enters anything other than an integer into the command prompt it will return a simple 'Console.Write("Error!");' instead of crashing.

Code is on Pastebin at: http://pastebin.com/LTU4scaY

Any help is much appreciated! 

Comments

• Lord_Drekar
    Options
    well, it appears to be some form of language. I have no idea what.. sorry I can't help :(
  • PsYcHoX88
    Options
    Hi Ben!

You do have a lot of repetitive code, I would firstly make some private functions.

1) A message function that you can provide variables answer and decision as parameters and make it do all the print lines, since I see only a small part of big chunks of text changes due to those variables. You can literally replace all those 9 blocks with one function and some small ifs.

2) You can put an else after all your if statements to determine invalid input and do your Console.Write.

Any questions feel free to ask me, like clarifying :) 
  • 0031benjy
    Options
    Mmhmm, thanks a lot, I'll look into it, I believe Functions is contained within the specifications for one of my pass criteria so I better get to grips with them, thanks again Psycho, helps a lot!
  • PsYcHoX88
    PsYcHoX88 Member
    edited March 2014
    Options